CSU Golfer Named Player of The Year

CSU Golfer Named Player of The Year

ST. AUGUSTINE, Fla. - The Columbus State University men's and women's golf teams picked up some hardware on Thursday night, as the All-Peach Belt Conference awards were handed out at the pre-championship banquet. 

Jordan Doull was named the Peach Belt Conference Player of the Year while also being selected to the All-PBC first team. 

After winning Freshman of the Year last year, Doull continued his dominate run as a Cougar in his sophomore season. Doull is the sixth Cougar in history to win the award, and the first since Andrew Georgiou won it back in 2007. He also becomes the first golfer at CSU to win both the Peach Belt Freshman and Player of the Year awards in their Cougar career. 

The sophomore grabbed his first collegiate victory at the McDonough Cup earlier this season when he shot a 5-under par for the tournament. Doull holds a stroke average of 72.0, just five-tenths of a stroke from the PBC lead. He ended up in the top-ten six times, including two top-five finishes. 

After their historic regular season, the women's golf team saw Anna Meleshkina and Victoria Libaak earn All-Peach Belt Conference honors as well. Meleshkina was named to the first team with Libaak selected to the second. 

Meleshkina led the Lady Cougars with two third place finishes in the nine events she played in. The junior had a low round of 70 in the opening round of the Jekyll O'Lantern Intercollegiate which tied her for the best round of any women's golfer in the PBC this season. 

Libaak had the best stroke average for Columbus State this season at 76.95, one-tenth of a stroke better than her teammate Meleshkina. Libaak grabbed four top-ten finishes this season, including a season best finish of second place at the Jekyll O'Lantern Intercollegiate. 

Both Meleshkina and Libaak reside in the top-ten in the PBC in stroke average entering the postseason. 

Each golf team will get their PBC Championship run underway on Friday with the women's teams taking the course beginning at 8 a.m. The tee time for the first three teams on the men's side starts at 9:39 a.m.

News Radio 540 · Columbus' News Radio 540

Listen Now on iHeartRadio

outbrain pixel